The policy revisions were part of an automatic firmware update that outraged users last week, who tried to log in and found they must instead install the new Cisco Cloud Connect service. The automatic upgrade came without notice and with forced acceptance of a less-private user agreement.
Of particular concern was this item: “When you use the Service, we may keep track of certain information related to your use of the Service, including but not limited to the status and health of your network and networked products; which apps relating to the Service you are using; which features you are using within the Service infrastructure; network traffic (e.g., megabytes per hour); internet history; how frequently you encounter errors on the Service system and other related information (‘Other Information’).”
Joel Hruska at ExtremeTech this week reports the offending paragraph had been removed from the supplemental privacy statement. However, Cisco apparently isn’t backing down from the auto-update setting by default.
Such illicitness includes “obscene, pornographic, or offensive purposes.”
The Cisco Home Community forum has instructions on how to downgrade the routers’ firmware and opt-out of future automatic updates. However, the company says the routers’ advanced features will not be available until the upgrade is performed.