Warn about assigning "Anyone" group in Global and Project permissions

2009-07-24T05:42:47
ID ATLASSIAN:JRASERVER-18076
Type atlassian
Reporter andrew.myers
Modified 2018-12-08T00:16:18

Description

{panel:bgColor=#e7f4fa} NOTE: This suggestion is for JIRA Server. Using JIRA Cloud? [See the corresponding suggestion|http://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JRACLOUD-18076]. {panel}

Assigning anyone to global permissions such as a "Browse user" is a sure way to shoot yourself in the foot inadvertently.

We make a vague mention of it in the documentation

  • https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/Managing+Global+Permissions

{quote}* if you wish to grant the permission to non logged-in users, select 'Anyone' (not recommended for production systems). Note that the 'JIRA Users' permission (i.e. permission to log in) cannot be granted to 'Anyone' (i.e. to non logged-in users) since this would be contradictory. {quote}

A worse impact can happen if 'Browse Project' (in Project Permissions page) is misconfigured for 'Anyone'. This may allow public search engine crawlers to index JIRA issues.

We should add an explicit warning on the Global Permissions and Project Permissions page.

Alternatively we could update the wording description like was done in JRA-29503. That is, we could change "Anyone" to "Public" (or "Anonymous and JIRA users").