You are able to delete a Custom Field that is referenced in Permission settings.

2007-11-02T03:23:27
ID ATLASSIAN:JRASERVER-13874
Type atlassian
Reporter mlassau
Modified 2017-02-17T06:11:01

Description

If you add a User Custom Field as a permission in a permission scheme or issue level security scheme, you are then able to delete the Custom Field without validation or warnings.

After deleting the field, you are still able to see the Custom Field ID in the permission scheme, although it can obviously not be used.